Maryland Lemon Law

Top Links

Maryland Lemon Law

Maryland Lemon Law

Lemon Law Complaint Form

Maryland's lemon law applies only to cars, light trucks and motorcycles that:

1. Are registered in Maryland, and

2. Have been driven less than 15,000 miles and been owned less than 15 months. (Even if you are not the original owner, the Maryland Lemon Law might apply to your vehicle if the original owner purchased it less than 15 months ago.)

The Maryland Lemon Law provides that a dealer or manufacturer must correct a defect within 30 days after the consumer writes to the manufacturer by certified mail. If the manufacturer or dealer is unable to do so, the consumer is entitled to a refund or replacement vehicle under the Maryland Lemon Law if the car has A brake or steering failure that was not corrected after the first repair attempt, and that causes the vehicle to fail Maryland's safety inspection; or Any one problem that substantially impairs the use and market value of the vehicle that was not corrected in four repair attempts; or Any number of problems that substantially impair the use and market value of the vehicle that have caused it to be out of service for a cumulative total of 30 or more days.

If you suspect your car is a lemon -- for example, if the dealer has tried once or twice unsuccessfully to repair the problem and you believe the problem substantially impairs the use and market value of the vehicle -- you should write to the manufacturer immediately. You do not need to wait until the dealer has made the four repair attempts, or until the car has been out of service for 30 days.

More Info

News Clippings

More News

^ Top | Copyright © Maryland Lemon Law